Thursday, 12 April 2018

The Collector by Fiona Cummins





Out now

Published by Pan Macmillan

Purchase from Amazon here


The Blurb:

If you like Mo Hayder and Thomas Harris, you’ll love The Collector. 
Jakey escaped with his life and moved to a new town. His rescue was a miracle but his parents know that the Collector is still out there, watching, waiting . . .
Clara, the girl he left behind, dreams of being found. Her mother is falling apart but she will not give up hope. The Collector has found an apprentice to take over his family’s legacy. 
But he can’t forget the one who got away and the detective who destroyed his dreams. DS Etta Fitzroy must hunt him down before his obsession destroys them all. 


My review:


Having read and loved Rattle, Fiona's debut novel, I was like a kid waiting for christmas when I heard that not only did she have another book coming out, but that it was a follow up to her first book. I clicked download as soon as I could and ventured off to a quiet retreat to get stuck in.

It is safe to say that The Collector did not let me down! I devoured every page and kept going long after I should have stopped to do other things! Even darker and creepier than Rattle, this book is everything i hoped it would be and more! If you haven't read Rattle it would be good to read it first, but not essential as this stands alone  as well. 

The main character is one twisted sicko who wants nothing more than to cause as much pain and misery as possible. He is deeply warped! Clara, a young girl is missing and hope is pretty much gone for her. But DS Etta Fitzroy never gives up hope. Determined and passionate she is always driven and in search of justice. But The Collector just doesnt want to let go! Cue a plot that twists and turns and kept me gripped to the edge of my seat. 

Fiona Cummins has written another best seller. Filled with great characters, especially Etta Fitzroy, who I hope we see again. Hope she is busy writing book three because I am sat here eagerly awaiting it! 

Tuesday, 27 March 2018

The Fear by C.L. Taylor







Purchase from Amazon here


What's it about?

Sometimes your first love won’t let you go…
When Lou Wandsworth ran away to France with her teacher Mike Hughes, she thought he was the love of her life. But Mike wasn’t what he seemed and he left her life in pieces.
Now 32, Lou discovers that he is involved with teenager Chloe Meadows. Determined to make sure history doesn’t repeat itself, she returns home to confront him for the damage he’s caused.

But Mike is a predator of the worst kind, and as Lou tries to bring him to justice, it’s clear that she could once again become his prey…


What did I think?

Someone pass me some matchsticks to hold open my eyes today! Yep, it was a late one because I quite simply couldn't put this down until I finished it. If you have ever read of C.L. Taylor's books before you will know what I mean, and if you haven't, why not put it right by reading The Fear?!

Fast paced, dark and unrelenting, The Fear is a great thriller. It revolves primarily around Lou, who as a teenager was groomed by her teacher and ran away with him. Lou, now in her thirties, finds out that her teacher appears to be spinning his web again with another teen, and vows to stop anyone else going through what she did. The story flits between the past and the present as we travel back to the time to witness some of what happened to her, and understand just why she is so scared about it happening again. We also bear witness to the lengths she will go to stop history repeating itself, which gets messy and complex which could make for interesting discussions in book clubs! 

The story is like the yellow brick road in The Wizard of Oz! You think that you are following a road that will lead to a certain ending, but just as you think you have it sussed, another character or twist jumps out at you and throws you off track. You get to know more, re-evaluate and on you go before whomph, another appears!

I want to say more, so much more, but I can't as that would be unfair if you are yet to read it. But oh my gosh I wasn't disappointed! Roll on C.L. Taylor's next book...I'll be at the front of the queue! 

Tuesday, 23 January 2018

Cover Reveal - Deadly Secrets by Robert Bryndza

Hey guys, 

I am literally hopping off my seat about this cover reveal. Not only is the cover INCREDIBLE, but it also means that a new Erika Foster book is on its way. 

Yes boys and girls, book number 6 - Deadly Secrets is on it's way, and it sounds like it is a going to be another smash! 

I feel like Kathy Bates in Misery, but when it comes to Roberts work, I am your number one fan ;-)

Check out this stunner of a cover, and get pre-ordering your copy NOW!! 




Deadly Secrets: An absolutely gripping serial killer thriller (Detective Erika Foster Book 6) 


To commit the perfect murder, you need the perfect cover.

On a cold icy morning, a mother wakes to find her daughter’s blood-soaked body frozen to the road. Who would carry out such a horrific killing on the victim’s doorstep?

Straight off her last harrowing case, Detective Erika Foster is feeling fragile but determined to lead the investigation. As she sets to work, she finds reports of assaults in the same quiet South London suburb where the woman was killed. One chilling detail links them to the murder victim – they were all attacked by a figure in black wearing a gas mask. 

Erika is on the hunt for a killer with a terrifying calling card. The case gets more complicated when she uncovers a tangled web of secrets surrounding the death of the beautiful young woman. 

Yet just as Erika begins to piece the clues together, she is forced to confront painful memories of her past. Erika must dig deep, stay focused and find the killer. Only this time, one of her own is in terrible danger… 

From the global million-copy bestselling author comes a totally heart-racing, hold-your-breath read that will keep you hooked until the very last page.



About the author: 

Robert Bryndza is the author of the international #1 bestseller The Girl in the Ice, which is the first in his Detective Erika Foster series.

The Night Stalker, Dark Water and Last Breath are the second, third, and fourth books in the series, and the fifth book, Cold Blood has just been published.

Robert's books have sold over 2 million copies and have been translated into 27 languages.

In addition to writing crime fiction, Robert has published a bestselling series of romantic comedy novels. He is British and lives in Slovakia.

You can find out more about the author at www.robertbryndza.com and on Twitter and Instagram @RobertBryndza

Monday, 22 January 2018

Cover Reveal - One Summer in Rome by Samantha Tonge

Hey there, 

Hope life is treating you well. It may be a gloomy and cold Monday, but I have something to share that will definitely cheer your day up and transport you to summer, sunshine and smiles. 

I am so excited to share the cover for Samantha Tonge's forthcoming book One Summer in Rome, and boy, it is a stunner, check it out!!




To Rome…with love?


Mary Smith is turning her very ordinary life upside-down! She’s bought herself a one-way ticket to Rome and is ready for a summer she’ll never forget.
Men might be off the cards for waitress Mary, but within hours of arriving at the utterly charming family-run La Dolce Vita pizzeria, she’s already fallen in love with the bustling capital!
Only Dante Rossi, the mysterious (and drop-dead gorgeous) chef seems displeased with her arrival. And in the heat of the kitchen, it doesn’t take long for long-buried secrets to surface and sparks to fly…
A deliciously heartwarming romance to have you dreaming of summer. Perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson and Caroline Roberts.


Pre-order now from Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2rrwXfT

Publication date: 9th May 2018

Published by HQ Digital 


About the Author:






Samantha Tonge lives in Cheshire with her lovely family and a cat who thinks it’s a dog. When not writing she spends her days cycling, willing cakes to rise and avoiding housework. She has sold over 80 short stories to women’s magazines. Her bestselling debut novel, Doubting Abbey, was shortlisted for the Festival of Romantic Fiction best Ebook award in 2014. Game of Scones hit #5 in the UK Kindle chart and won the Best Romantic Ebook category at the 2015 Love Stories Awards.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SamTongeWriter

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SamanthaTongeAuthor


Website: http://samanthatonge.co.uk/